Visuals to aid

At school, we have been learning about aiding different visuals to our stories. And I am not talking about pictures, but about graphs and data that will help the reader understand the information in more detail.

I have already done this to some degree in an article a classmate and I wrote for the Winnipeg Free Press about the location of panhandler complaints in Winnipeg.

However, the map did not turn out the way I originally pictured it in my head. (You can view the interactive map here.) It is not that the map was bad, I just had a different idea in my head. I have decided that I want to re-do the map to the picture that I thought of when we originally starting discussing the project.

Considering I have never done this before, it took me a while to edit everything down to make it look perfect. Unfortunately, I never leaned how to export the map… and it won’t seem to let me embed it here… so, here is a nice picture.

Each colour means a different number of complaints, including the smaller reds which all mean one

 

In class, we were told to go through Stats Canada to look at the tables and find out how we could make a story out of the information and present a visual.

Unfortunately, none of them really had to do with maps – and I wanted to practise my skills. But I will give you one story idea.

The statistics I was looking at doing was the age that students decide to go to post-secondary education after high school. I was surprised to find it was common for them to take 2 years off.

Since ‘gap years’ are common in Europe and Australia, I think it would be interesting to compare the numbers in a graph and write a story about the lack of culture around ‘a gap year’ in Canada. Since it is so popular other places in the world, they have many programs and businesses dedicated to the idea. I feel like Canada does not have those options.

Since this is around the time most high school students will be applying for college/university, I think that it would be interesting to interview seniors about their choices and ask them if we are lacking resources in ‘gap year’ information.

Leave a Reply

