[Post] Culture Shock

When I told people I was heading to India, many of them mentioned how it would be hard to get used to the culture there. The thing is… I knew I wouldn’t be too shocked.

I like to visit new places and traveled outside of Canada for 4 months in total during 2011. It takes a lot to shock me.

When you are in a foreign place, anytime something happens that you makes you think to yourself “OMG I can’t believe that happened”, it is always followed by something bring you back down to reality. Something that reminds you of home.. whether it be a famous song playing nearby, a popular phrase or sometimes just the honk of a car horn.

The real trouble for me is always coming back to Canada. To me, it is harder to come back from a grand adventure to my regular life. It is always a let-down. In India, everything was an adventure: from making my way to work everyday, to the food I would eat off the street to the conversations I would have with people.

Then I come back to Canada where I have a room overflowing with clothes and knickknacks and have to go back to school full-time. I think to myself “is this my real life or was I just living it before?”

It was exhausting to go through India, working nine-hour days and having people stare at me 24/7. But its even more exhausting to be back: having to attend school, finish all my freelance work and figure out what I want to do with me life. I graduate soon… and I suddenly feel like I am 14 again with a picture of how I want my life to be… but with no knowledge about how to get there.

It also doesn’t help that India is 11 and a half time zones away… and I keep waking up at 3 in the morning. I am either at school or sleeping. This needs to be changed so I can actually get work done. It is still crazy to be back. It is reverse culture shock.

Coming home is much harder than going places. I want to go places.

Leave a Reply

