Journalists on Screen

A couple of weeks ago, I was at a Blockbuster closing sale looking through $3 movies. Being as I buy too many movies, I am not scared to admit that my movie collection grew by around 30 movies that day.

When I got home and was filing them into my database (I know, loser), I noticed a few trends of the movies I bought. They were either:

1. A foreign language film – I hate downloading and watching these movies on my computer.

2. A classic film – think The Godfather or Pulp Fiction

or finally,

3. A movie about a journalism.

Now, I had never owned too many movies about journalists before. Sure I had Mr. Deeds, The Devil Wears Prada and Bridget Jones Diary – soft journalism movies as they all have a small journalism angle. Recently I noticed I had been watching movies like Roman Holiday and All the Presidents Men more often. But after my Blockbuster run, my shelves were filled with Frost/Nixon, Good Night and Good Luck, Citizen Kane, and Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas (I know I may be reaching on this one, but I consider anything from Hunter S. Thompson to be journalism).

I also picked up many documentaries, which I consider to be journalism. My shelf of movies was joined by A Crude Awakening: The Oil Crash, An Inconvenient Truth, Countdown to Zero, God Grew Tired of Us, Gunner Palace and Roger & Me.

Welcome home my new movies!

After thinking about it for a while, three of my all-time favourite television shows (the ones I can watch over and over again) also revolve around journalism. And the interesting thing is, they are all different kinds of journalism.

  • Sex and the City – a classic. All the story lines are written through Carrie’s narration from her column. Let’s call this the cosmopolitan journalist.
  • My Boys – a lesser known TV series but a fun one at that. Here we follow Chicago Cubs’ sport writer P.J. as she links all of her problems in life to sports analogies in her writing. So, the sports writer.
  • Gilmore Girls – yes, Rory wants to be the ultimate journalist and attends Yale university to learn the craft. All through high school she also wrote for the school paper. We’ll call this the budding journalist.
I am not sure why, but I suddenly seem drawn to these shows and movies – much more than before. Perhaps I am looking to picture my future self in some sort of journalist lifestyle. Perhaps, I secretly pretend I am these characters to see if this is where I want to be. All I know is, I would rather watch these than my other favourite movies. Well, other than Dazed and Confused. Nothing can beat that.
.

Do you have any suggestions for me to build my collection up more or a television show I should be watching? Let me know. As you can tell, I am always willing to build up my movie database.

I also create a nice home for VHS' tossed out by their mean owners


2 thoughts on “Journalists on Screen

Leave a Reply

