Education is a Right

Education in refugee camps is one of the topics that I really wanted to investigate during my time in Ghana. I got my chance to look at the situation first hand during my to visit Ampain Refugee Camp last week.

The camp houses around 7000 Ivorian refugees that fled from the recent political unrest in the neighboring Ivory Coast.

Entrance to the Camp

View from Afar

During my time at the camp, I spent all my time talking to students, parents, teachers, the director of the camp and some UN officials who were upset that journalists were there. [I guess we forgot to “check in” with them].

Most of the people spoke little English so my interviews were either done through translator or my rusty grade school French.

Who knew “alle a l’ecole?” would become so useful?

Speaking my little french

So cute,

The camp houses a primary school that educates about 1000 students (3 classes of 350) daily in a temporary wooden structure with tarp roofs and walls.

UNICEF Primary School

School's "Black"board

Smiling Faces

Soccer

There is also a secondary school in a nearby abandoned building. [I love these photos]

Walls turned into Blackboards

Music Class

Here is the piece I did for it. I know it is a little rough but I am still learning. Plus learning how to pronounce things so people in Ghana would understand me ended up being harder than I thought.

2 thoughts on “Education is a Right

  1. Pingback: World Refugee Day | Oh, oh, oh, Miss Alyssa

  2. Pingback: Another Day, Another Week, Another Blog Post « Oh, oh, oh, Miss Alyssa

Leave a Reply

